The Coalition for Culture and Media (CCM) was formed in 2017. Until October 1, 2021, it comprised some forty organizations active in the cultural and media sector (associations, unions, citizens groups and researchers) representing hundreds of thousands of people across Canada.

In its Declaration for the sustainability and the vitality of national culture and media in the digital era, published on September 14, 2021, the Coalition called upon governments to restore fiscal and regulatory fairness, to act with continuity, and to implement effective measures to support national culture and media. Despite some progress, these demands are still relevant and the federal government must commit more than ever to preserving our online cultural and media sovereignty.

Cultural and media content produced in this country entertains, moves, informs, or passionately engages us and is greatly appreciated by the public. Regardless of the technology used to distribute it, this content contributes to our identity, and is an important factor in social integration and cohesion. Culture and media also represent a major economic force in Canada.